New Project: 30 Days & 30 Nights

Before I was a ghost, I was a badass vampire.

Before I was a ghost, I was a badass vampire.

It has been a while, but between Odyssey Con, book reviews, my own writing, and the day job… I haven’t had much time to think. Much less anything much to say. But things have changed.

Several items on my Bucket List are being driven into the realm of the impossible. Namely, Craig Ferguson is stepping down from his talk show. No matter how quickly I get my stories out, there is no feasible way for me to sell enough to warrant an invite on the show. And the harmonica challenge has been dead for a while. So, there’s that. In all honesty, there really isn’t even the time to go to LA and attend a taping of the show.

I once said to myself in those quiet moments of reflection, “the measure of a warrior isn’t in his victories, it’s in his defeats.” There’s no shame in missing out on those line items. It is not so much the destination, but the journey. Which means I may back up the site branding to The Journey I had been using previously. Because the journey that is my writing isn’t over. Not by far.

With that, I am asking for help from any who are willing to give it. I am starting a new challenge for the month of July. The idea is one that I had considered last November, but followed a market trend that didn’t pan out. So now I am following my heart.

The Challenge

Write a short story each and every day for 30 days. Each short story will have at least 1667 words to it, totally the 50,000 word goal for a NaNoWriMo challenge. If a story goes over 3334 words, it will still count as a single day. My goal is to have 30 short stories of 1700 words or more each. Enough for several anthologies, should I wish.

The Reason

I want to refine my short story writing. It is someplace where I have issues. My research in this has included picking up and reading more anthologies and watching videos on YouTube of slam poets. And then refining my watching of the videos to just the good slam poets. My search is for an efficiency of words, something poets are strong at.

Your Help

Short story ideas. Writing sparks. It could be as simple as a headline. Did you see a weird news headline that made you laugh? Share it with me. A picture that invokes your imagination? Link it. A single line of text that hooks you in (provided I’m not plagiarizing or breaking copyright laws). Or a song. Lord knows, I’ve had a number of songs that have sparked story ideas in me.

Link or post any story sparks, ideas or inspiring works of art below. I will pick one a day (or one of my own as I have been collecting them for a while in preparation) and use it. My intention is to post the spark I use each day. Maybe use a journal entry to outline the direction I want to take it.

The Offer

The month is over. Stories are edited. I have my collection.

I have no idea when I will get around to publishing them. Especially if there is no unifying structure between them. But in the event I use your idea or spark for a short story, you will become a beta reader for it. Once edited, I will send it to you for you to read. If you have feedback, send it along. It may change the final product. Tough for me to see that far ahead.

So… what you got? Hit me with your best shot. šŸ˜‰

9 thoughts on “New Project: 30 Days & 30 Nights

  1. A were-creature, but an unusual one. We’ve seen all kinds of lions and tigers and bears, but what about an anteater? Or maybe a platypus? Do the other weres make fun of them, or are they killed on sight? Do they get sent to a remote island, like lepers? Inquiring minds want to know šŸ™‚

  2. HMMM!!! Quite an undertaking. Let’s see if some of my silliness can supply…a real life banana man, someone’s arm has been replaced with a kitchen utensil, popcorn popping has raged beyond control, someone is new to a food pantry and the experience gets progressively more insane, swol eskimos, flamingo revolution, computer circuitry is actually a collection of microscopic skeletons created by a necromancer, and the world’s beards are now growing out of a single man, and turtles stacked onto each other forever…surely something can be gleaned from that randomness? šŸ˜®

  3. Two strangers must spend a month in a cabin in the woods. Their only means of communication is non-verbal. One of them has a secret. The other seems insane. It must start: “Two person cabin? I thought we had more …” Good luck.

    • I could see some silly American accidentally killing what they thought was a rare octopus, but what actually the even more rare spawn of the Old Ones. Maybe the newly spawned avatar of Cthuluhu?

Leave a Reply

