More Recipes

Well, okay… one more. There’s nothing terribly interesting for me to post on the writing front (until submission time rolls around), and the cupcakes post went over so well (because of RT’s in Twitter). Also, it was my lunch today.

Roasted Brussel Sprouts

BX0808H_balsamic-roasted-brussels-sprouts-recipe_s4x3This likely takes a lot of what makes this vegetable healthy and negates it, but it was also the recipe that I pulled out of my noodle to make my wife like sprouts. You know, because… healthy.

The Prep

Take about 3-4 cups of sprouts (I have a large measuring bowl I fill almost to the top), wash them, pat them dry and then cut off the bottoms and split them. You can choose not to split them, but I like the idea of more surface area and getting the good stuff through the whole vegetable. Plus, easier to eat.

Chop up 4 slices of thick cut bacon into as small of pieces as you want. (Mine aren’t finely chopped. I like seeing the bacon in the finished product.)

The Cooking

Put the bacon pieces in your pan at medium heat. Get them browning and getting a nice coat of bacon grease in the pan. (I told you this was going to kill some of the health benefits.) Once the bacon is browned and you have a nice glaze on the pan, throw in the sprouts and lower the heat a touch (for me, it’s taking it from a 6 to a 4 on my stove).

Once your sprouts are starting to brown a bit on the bottoms and edges, pour in some stock. I use either vegetable stock or chicken stock. Just enough to give a shallow coating on the bottom of the pan, maybe a half cup. Splash in some white wine (recently it has been a pinot grigio for me) and a bit of spice. My go-to spices are sea salt and ancho chili powder. If I want a little kick I add a touch of cracked red pepper.

Stir occasionally and simmer for a while, maybe 5 or 10 minutes. Once you are ready to simmer them (and the sauce) down for a bit, put in a splash  of balsamic in the pan. Just a touch, maybe a tablespoon or two tops. You don’t need much. Stir to get everything combined and then cover for a bit to let simmer.

Again, stir once in a while to keep them from scorching. Once they are soft to the touch, they are ready.

When to Use

I use them as a side dish with any type of meat. Usually when we want some type of green vegetable. Because, fiber… Also, they are high in protein all on their own. (Though you should add some whole grain to your meal if you are relying on the sprouts for your full fiber.) I have also been known to take leftovers to work as a lunch. A small container of the sprouts and a banana make for just enough to keep me from gnawing on people’s arms throughout the day.

Leave a Reply

