How Sure Are You?

I know it has been a while since I have blogged. Honestly, there wasn’t much for me to blog about. Well, aside from my D&D game night stuff (on a different blog address for a reason), or yet another post about Wayland, I didn’t have much to say. Then I went to lunch today.

Seriously, how many of the best stories start off that way. Out of nowhere… From left field… And then I…

no-jaywalking-signSo these students were walking the same direction as I was. One of them was touting not only his right, but his duty to yell at a car that doesn’t stop for them. Normally I would say, in his defense, pedestrians do have the right of way in the crosswalk. A trait of mass-delusional effects on campus here is that everyone on foot forgets those last three words.

IN THE CROSSWALK

Simple enough right? I mean we were taught the look both ways thing when we were kids, right? Our parents instilled in us the wisdom that a ton and a half truck trumps even an adult body, correct?

Not this guy. He talked about practicing crossing traffic on a seven lane road. A busy one. Even one of his friends was laughing at him for being an idiot. His answer to why he would do something so stupid?

Man, you just don’t know. It was so… liberating.

It continually astonishes me how kids manage to get accepted to this university and still don’t have the common sense not to walk into traffic. And if fact believe it is their right to cross, mid-street, against a light and from between cars.

For those of you who don’t believe Darwinism exists, I present exhibit A.

Leave a Reply

