Second Playlist and Giveaway

So I decided that this morning I would take a break from my outlining/edits of the scenes I wrote to fill Under the Hood. I decided I was going to produce a blog I promised a long time ago about the second playlist for the the book. This one was going to be the playlist for the Detective. I hadn’t settled on the first name yet, but his name/title will be Detective Ascenzo.

This started with Dukes playlist, which was developed with the help of Ben Dukes – the inspiration for the character. For the Detective I needed something different. He was more of the traditional rock, heavy metal, punk and alternative mashup listener. I created a base of four songs with the help of Biatch from the JJO morning show.

So I started out with the Otep song, adding in Volbeats “Still Counting” since it was playing when I went into the Victory to write and was on again when I came out. Also, they did a cover of “Sad Man’s Tongue” and since I had Johnny Cash on the other playlist it seemed like a good fit. (Not to mention one I could work into the story.) But this was still only three songs. There was a Skrillex song with a video I liked, but that was tagged for a different playlist. Then I started searching.

What I found in my first searches was the group The Nearly Deads. A rock group that sounds a lot like Garbage to me. At the very least it reminds me of that genre/era. Also, they are zombie fanatics. So Never Give Up joined the playlist as my “new artist find.” (Yes, Ben Dukes was the NAF for the country playlist.) I’ve embedded the video here since it is on their official YouTube feed. Check them out, buy their stuff. Also, they seem to have some ties to Milwaukee as they’ve played here a couple of times in spite of being from Nashville.

I took a lot of suggestions and picked up a number of new songs because of them. All of them are going onto my greater playlist file. During the last week or so I made the last tweaks to it and promptly left the list at home before heading out to the coffee shop. It is a Friday after all. But we can do this from memory, right?

Before getting to the full list, I also found another new artist when showing my wife the Nearly Deads video. They are a group that has a very old school feel to them, and while the group doesn’t scream zombies to me, their song is named “Zombie.” The original video I found (someone doing a dance video to the song) had the video titled as “Walk Like a Zombie,” but I soon found the official video. I’ve embedded it here as well. This is also posted to the group’s YouTube account.

Lastly, in doing these searches I came up with a number of songs and artists that are “out there.” Which is to say the songs mesh well to the themes of the story. And by themes, I mean the monsters. (Mostly.) So I also added a song from a psychobilly group that was found at least three times in my searches.

With that done, here is the final list.

  • Never Give Up – The Nearly Deads
  • Run 4 Cover – Otep
  • Still Counting – Volbeats
  • Sad Man’s Tongue – Volbeats
  • Zombie – Family Force Five
  • Living Dead Girl – Rob Zombie
  • Walk Like a Zombie – Horrorpops

The Contest

I’ve decided to switch things up a bit. Instead of giving away a single playlist, I will be giving away the album of the New Artist Find from each list. In short, if you donated to the Under the Hood story during my Camp NaNoWriMo July Pledge Drive, you’re automatically entered. Once I figure out the logistics of picking them up I will give away a copy of Down in Flames by Ben Dukes and The Nearly Deads self titled EP. The trick will be getting a CD for you or simply figuring out how to gift them through iTunes.

One thought on “Second Playlist and Giveaway

  1. Hmm it looks like your blog ate my first comment (it
    was super long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I wrote and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog.
    I as well am an aspiring blog writer but I’m still new to the whole thing. Do you have any recommendations for newbie blog writers? I’d genuinely appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

