Stand for Something or You’ll Fall for Anything

Welcome to the blog of a Wisconsin author trying to patch together the plot for a story to be written in 30 days. That involves everything it entails. With elections and the like going on, I suppose that a bit of the current events will seep into the story. My job is to ensure that my muse isn’t publicly executed this time around. Of course that got me thinking as I was ironing out the plot this morning. In Sucker Punch the character played by

Scott Glenn said the line hearkening to the quote that titled this blog post.

If you don’t stand for something, you’ll fall for anything.

The quote is a variation of one that has been attributed to both Alexander Hamilton and Rev. Peter Marshall. If the references I am finding in an Internet search are to be believed, Rev. Peter Marshall may be the originator of the words. Either way, the merit of the saying stands.

In the coming weeks, many of us in Wisconsin will have to stand for something. Some may have no idea what that is. Others may rise up for the first time in years to actually look into the decisions they are making, both in and out of the polling stations. For my part, in addition to any decisions as a citizen I am making a choice to stand for something.

I stand for my art. I stand for my stories. And I stand in defense of my characters who cannot stand for themselves. To that end, I stand for the charity supporting young writers. (See the Camp NaNoWriMo tab above there? Yeah, up there. Go click it. Donate. I’ll give you a copy of the book when its done.)

On the page you’ll notice I blocked out some of the options, like picking the genre I’m writing and naming the main character. The reason is that this close to the start time I needed to nail down a plot. I had to have something to dive into tomorrow morning. Festa Italia is tonight and this is the first year I’m a full member of the Italian Workman’s Club. So I’m there most of the weekend, but still have a story to put out. If you’re local to Madison, stop by and say hello at Festa, I’m there most of the day and night Saturday.

The plot seems to lean towards the “Stand for Something” theme. Main characters have to stand up for sure, but so are the minor characters. People who have donated to be written into the book will stand up and be counted. Of course they may be summarily mauled by a monster, but you get what you pay for.

For my part the excitement is building as is the anxiety. I’m really looking forward to making this story take off and I would like to get a good push going on the pledge page. Suggest it to your friends, family and neighbors. Once I am past the point of being able to introduce side characters I’ll block those options out. At the same time, I plan on opening others up as the story progresses. Tomorrow I plan on kicking things off with a blog about the two protagonists for the story. The main characters. The badasses.

And remember, if you pledge for the story, leave a comment to let me know what you’d like written in. I’ll be keeping a running list on the Camp NaNoWriMo page.

One thought on “Stand for Something or You’ll Fall for Anything

  1. I couldn’t find it in me to like Sucker Punch as a narrative exercise. Sure. It was pretty to look at and the music was gorgeous, but everything about it seemed so grandiose and pointlessly complicated for the sake of it. It was very self-indulgent.

    On the other hand, I think I can appreciate the quote enough to not let my opinion of its modern source cloud my judgment.

    Standing for something as an artist, but most importantly as a person, is what will set you apart from the rest of the herd. If you don’t do it, you’ll be just another salaryman/woman looking forward to the next paycheck and not much else.

Leave a Reply

