My New Favorite Food

Reading the title, you’re likely to think that I went to a new place in town and found my new, most favorite, indulgent food. You may even assume I am off my diet I started with Change Write Now. In both instances you would be wrong. I did try some incredible squash ravioli that is one of the specialties of our Sister City in Italy on Saturday, but I am thinking of Friday.

As you may remember from earlier posts, in starting with Change Write Now I also started using an app on my iPad called Lose It. My wife got it first on her Droid and convinced me to use it. According to the programs in the app I was not only not eating frequently enough, but if I skipped lunch my dinner was even worse for me because I figured it didn’t matter. This got me onto counting up the calories of the food I bring to work and choosing better foods for my 5-6 “meals” a day. For my purposes a 10am snack of Greek yogurt counts as a meal. This is also the source of my rants of feeling like a hobbit. (First breakfast, second breakfast, elevensies…)

My wife loves the low-fat 80 calorie generic yogurt. I’m fine with that, but I prefer Greek yogurt which is fat free, but 140 calories and has more protein. It keeps me from wanting to gnaw on the arms of coworkers like a real zombie during the day. In short, I usually bring two Chobani cups with me to work. Also, I have found if I even skip one of those snacks during the day, I have to make up those calories at night and get forgetful and “weird” during the day. For those of you who know me, that’s weird in comparison to my normal, not most people’s.

On Friday, I open my container of blueberry Chobani and see a purple splotch of yogurt on the edge. Not unusual for blueberry, but normally the fruit is on the bottom. I lift the edge of the yogurt on the lip and see a big patch of mold. Obviously the top foil has punctured or the edge had lifted on it exposing it and causing it to spoil. It happens. Of course the issue was not having anything to replace it. I was bummed. As such I went to Twitter and sighed my angst over my lost yogurt in emo fashion.

This is where I get to the point of the blog – the part where I mention that in about 30 minutes or less I had a tweet from Chobani apologizing for the problem and offering to replace the product for me. This gesture along with the excellent product (when not left exposed to air) marks them as one of those products I will always support when the choice is there. In this day it is becoming less frequent that we see customer service this fast and helpful when it is solicited – much less unsolicited on social media.

Friday night on my way home from work I stopped at the store for groceries and restocked my yogurt with another dozen containers. Four were left this morning when I packed my two. I guess my wife and son have grown fond of them as well. I guess I know what I’m doing tonight on my way home.

Change Write Now (for 1/22/12)

  • Food – spot on (even with the cupcake of the week)
  • Water – under due to being at home and working around the house instead of at a desk
  • Exercise – well over due to cleaning and such
  • Writing – over goal, but it was all for game prep
  • Habits – both met, but it was my normal weigh in day (lost my 2lb goal for the week)
  • Sleep – over 6 hours, must’ve been a long weekend

Project Stats

  • Writing – naughty story about ready for critique, dragon poem planned
  • Reading (print) – still on Silver Tongued Devil (not much reading time this weekend)
  • Reading (Nook) – see above
  • Listening (iPod) – picked up Hammered and Hexed by Kevin Hearne from Audible
Leave a Reply

