Review Day

In more ways than one it is review day. Sure that may seem confusing now, but let’s see if I can’t put some perspective on it.

Book Review

Wicked Lil Pixie posted up my review of Scent and Shadow by Mercy Loomis, go check it out. Full Disclosure: Mercy Loomis is in my writing group so I have read a couple revisions of the book. I do really feel the book is an awesome read though. Try out the short story A Wild Hunt for free on Smashwords and get a preview of the novel. Or just pick up the novel.

Political Review

Yesterday actor Rose McGowen posted to Twitter a photo with the caption about hard core religious people going after Mickey. She took some slack from a tweeter who was a far right religious conservative. I replied back to take it with a grain of salt as that person seemed to support Governor Walker’s methods. Following so far?

Today I was sent the reply that “a lot of people” support Governor Walker’s methods and that I should “get a clue.” As I posted (not as an @reply, she can follow me if she wants to see what I say), it gave me a warm, fuzzy feeling inside.

The review for me is as follows. I have a number of friends and such on Facebook and Twitter that are conservative Republican. I don’t agree with it, but I get it. Honestly, in looking at the same evidence that I am, I cannot understand why some of those friends back the Tea Party, but that is their choice. I won’t agree with you, but I won’t join the statistics of people who are splitting up friends, families and marriages over politics.

This all comes with a caveat though. I’m not “wrong” and I am allowed to back the current Democratic representatives. Do I personally think the “get a clue” lady needs to heed her own advice? Yeah. But I’m not going to tell her that. She’s entitled to her opinion. But man was it tempting to open the flood gates.

Review: going forward I will make sure to consider each statement before clicking “submit.”

Change Write Now Review

It has been nearly a week. This Sunday the first points report for the Undead Poet Society is due. Last night I stopped at the store and picked up a new bathroom scale as ours was pretty old and not very reliable. This morning I risked using it. Which will bring me to the stats…

  • Water – made 60oz or so last night
  • Calories – made it within 60 of goal (60 under)
  • Exercise – 15 minutes walking (back/hip is springing back – will try 30 minutes tomorrow)
  • Writing – critique two pieces in writers group and handed out my chapter one for critique
  • Habits – still within budget for books
  • Ongoing Results – down 2 pounds (time elapsed of 5 days)

Review – This app my wife downloaded is definitely working. Not only was I going way under calories more often then getting it right in the middle, the task of writing down what I eat and planning for the meals is bringing out healthier choices. All of that comes together for the result of weight loss starting.

Misc Stats

Book/Nook: started Sins of the Demon by Diana Rowland last night

iPod/Audiobook: still on Darkfever by Karen Marie Moning (hard to concentrate at work)

Writing: nothing yet, short story coming tonight or tomorrow

Leave a Reply

