First Step on a New Path

Today I am heading out on the first steps of a new path on The Journey. I have outlined where the story from NaNoWriMo is going and continued along in writing that tale. At the same time I have started submitting the first chapters to my writing group for critique. Their feedback has been strong and I have a direction to go that will strengthen the first 6,000 to 8,000 words of the story. To that end I took a couple of chapters from the first start of the story and molded it into one – before making the editing suggestions the group gave me.

Any of you who are published authors or who have attended writing conferences are probably cringing at editing the beginning before finishing the end. Normally I would agree. Of course that’s assuming that the outlining I did had no affect on the chapters I had already drafted. Also I remember Patrick Rothfuss telling us at GenCon a couple years back how he did his manuscript in the worst way possible and not to follow his example. It has occurred to me that sometimes the wrong way can be the right direction on your journey. Everyone’s journey is different, right?

If it seems like I am asking permission or validation, I’m not. I know this is the way I need to go. The energy bubbling beneath the surface in spite of the fact I haven’t started in on my cup of coffee yet tells me this. Tonight is writing group, they will get the rest of the story that is going into this opening rewrite, leading to next week’s revision.

Do you have any writing practices that are bad form but seem to work for you? What are they?

One thought on “First Step on a New Path

  1. I seem to have gotten into the habit of starting a story without having a plot. I don’t know why, but somehow by the time I get a few thousand words into it I’m starting to get some ideas on where the characters want me to go. The coolest thing is that I’m telling the story to myself, so I can enjoy it almost as much as if I were reading it out of a book. I just hope that will mean that future readers will enjoy it as much as I do. 😉

Leave a Reply

