Monday, Monday…

I suppose I should have really tagged this as “Sunday, Monday” as it is really about how both of those days may or may not change. For the most part, I don’t see Sunday changing much, other than we will be playing Gamma World for our Sunday Night Game Night (so I don’t have to do so much prep work) and my wife and I will watch Walking Dead after instead of True Blood. Sunday will involve less prep work on the game, but more planning for the other ritual for Sunday.

Every week I try and make a batch of cupcakes for Game Night. It is a hobby my wife and I can do together, and it gives us something to munch on at the table than Doritos and Mountain Dew. (Old gamer joke.) The problem is that more often than not I am scrambling out for something I need for baking Sunday morning. Like this week – we needed foils and an idea for what to bake. By the time we made it back I had finished baking in time to get things together for the game (at least review my notes on the zombie horde this week) and for my wife to frost the little buggers. Baking I can do, frosting is beyond my artistic skills.

Note: For those wondering, this week’s batch were vanilla bean cupcakes (in ghost shaped tins) with a cherry caramel fill in the middle and chocolate cream cheese frosting. I also used mini M&Ms for eyes on them.

Funniest quote from Game Night: Awwww, what’s in the middle of my ghost? (Apparently Blaine missed the part where I told them there was cherry caramel in them. I can imagine the texture was surprising to say the least.)

Mondays are an entirely different breed of animal. Monday is normally just coming home, making dinner and watching sitcoms with my wife. This is the one day a week we would watch television. At least it was the one day a week until the networks screwed up our programming. But the reality is that we will still watch through How I Met Your Mother all the way through Mike and Molly before switching over to Castle. That means I will either need to write during lunch on Mondays, accept 1667 words for the day on those 4 days, or write a little extra on Saturday and Sunday. With all of the other things going on this November that might be a little tough, but I think I can do it.

Also, starting next week I will not be able to sleep until 7:00 if the dog decides he REALLY needs to go outside around 2:30 or 3:00. Just fair warning, there may be a 105 pound lap dog up for adoption on this blog before November is up.

Dog adoption aside, it looks like the schedule will become:

  • 5:00 – get up
  • 6:00 – be ready to leave the house
  • 6:30 – 8:00 coffee and writing at the coffee shop
  • 8:30 work
  • 5:00 home
  • 5:30 – 7:00 make dinner and finish words for the day
  • 7:00 – 10:00 television
  • 10:00 – 11:00 (maybe midnight) finish any words needed to make 3k

Monday and Wednesday definitely look to be my packed days. Nothing I can’t handle though. What is your Nanowrimo schedule looking like?

One thought on “Monday, Monday…

Leave a Reply

