Buy a Book: Day Two

Yesterday I gave you all the suggestion of one of the books I intend on picking up; a new novel from Jesse Petersen. Today I am delving into the stacks of books that I have read in the last year or two for some gems that you can look into. Specifically I am going to be looking at Urban Fantasy today.

Downside Ghosts Series by Stacia Kane

The first three books in this series came out in rapid-fire succession this summer. As such, you can read three of some of the freshest Urban Fantasy I have read in a long time. Chess, the main character is so damaged while being the heroine of the story it made me like her even more. Although rough to read in spots, it is that good kind of rough. The kind that makes you chomp at the bit for more.

In order the titles are Unholy Ghosts, Unholy Magic and City of Ghosts. Definitely read them in order.

Horngate Witches Series by Diana Pharaoh Francis

I am calling this a series, but really Bitter Night, the first in the series is the only one released so far. I am really excited for the next in the series though. Again, this highlights some flawed characters. There are very few White Hats and Black Hats in this series – more the lot of them are favoring the Earth Tones. If you get my meaning. If not, no worries. Sometimes I don’t even get my meaning.

Sabina Kane Series by Jaye Wells

Bad-ass magpire (half-vampire/half-mage) assassin and her demonic minion that takes the form of a hairless snarking cat? What’s not to love? Seriously though the series has some excellent action, humor and mystery to it. It also introduces some solid mythology to the invention of vampires and mages as a race as opposed to a disease or field of study.

Also my personal copy of the first book in the series (Red Headed Stepchild) is a proven and tested defense against drug-crazed wrens everywhere. It’s a long story, but it has the scars to prove it. Both Red Headed Stepchild and Mage in Black are in stores now. I would definitely suggest reading them in order.

Tell ’em Marge sent ya!

If you are the outgoing sort, when you go in to purchase your book (or books) on the 7th, tell them you are in an purchasing because it is National Buy a Book Day. Let as many of them know about the movement as possible. Power to the People!

Leave a Reply

