Weekly Writing Group

Many of you who are local to me have heard me mention this before. This has been something I have been looking in to for a while. A way of finding a niche that I have heard about from some of the Seattle folks in our neck of the woods. The idea is a writing group or critique group really that consists of authors who are either published or are attempting to get published. Sort of like a literary sparring group – full contact author matches.

You exercise to build muscles and get more endurance, right? The idea should be sound for more cerebral activities as well. This would be the focus of this group. To meet with other authors and discuss the craft of writing, local events pertaining to writing and read/critique each others work. Every week you would bring 4 or so pages of writing that you would read to the group (with copies for each member to take notes on and follow along). Reading out loud is an awesome way to catch awkward sounding passages so that you know to fix them. It also causes you to face some of your fears (like public speaking).

All genres and formats are welcome (short story, novel length, poetry) provided you are willing to listen, read and critique everyone’s work as well. And this is a workshop style critique we are talking about. To use the saying I have heard before at seminars, someone will “tell you your baby is ugly.” But then they will help you find a way to bedazzle it up like you are on an episode of Toddlers and Tiaras.

No day and time has been set yet, but the current times being discussed are Tuesday and Thursday. Location is currently looking like Cool Beans out by East Towne, but that is up for discussion.

If you are interested, sound off below! Or contact me if you have my contact information already.

4 thoughts on “Weekly Writing Group

  1. I would love to participate, but I don’t think I’m up to the challenge. I have been suffering from writer’s block for the last 20 years! I want to write. I really do. I just don’t know if I have a story to tell.

    • The only requirement is a desire to publish at some point and the drive to advance as a writer. You are welcome to try it out and see how you like it. Format doesn’t matter. Short story, poetry, whatever you want to write.

Leave a Reply

