Encounters Week 2

I am a week late on posting my bit about week two of the D&D Encounters. It started out as a test run and just seems to fall into place as a quick fix in the middle of the week that I am able to make with my wife’s new schedule. Also it is Spring Break. Either way, I sat down with a new set of dice (due to forgetting mine at home) and was surprised not only that they had Game Science dice there, but in the color I already had at home. They were only missing the inking (which I can get done at GenCon).

If you are wondering as you look at the photo above, that is a copy of Blood of the Demon by Diana Rowland there. I like to keep a book with me in the event I have time on my hands before the event. This week I am sporting Bitter Night by Diana Pharaoh Francis. Also you will see the non-Starbucks cup I had that week. When one has to park over a mile from one’s office, one must make executive decisions about one’s coffee. In other words, I stopped at Barrique’s Wine Cave for coffee on the way to my car to save time.

We begin with a discussion from the DM running the other table about how he does not allow laptops at the table and our DM prefers paper character sheets but will deal with the laptops. The other DM made a comment about not seeming hostile since it was not his table with the laptops. (Yes that will come back into play later.) So we were given the entry text into the encounter and we set up the map of the location just under the inn.

For this week we even discussed using the Twitter buffs/debuffs in the encounter. They decided to go with them, so through the magic of my Droid our two tables were listening to the inspiring music float down from the inn above (granting up a +1 bonus to all attacks). Our DM decided that since we had 6 players and we rocked the encounter the previous week so hard to buff up the bad guys. I am not sure what the standard was supposed to be, but in the exit to the cave we had two scorpions and two handlers with halberds in our way. And when I say “our way” I mean my half-elf battlemind’s way. Yes, I did zip right up to them, ignoring the minions as soon as initiative was rolled.

Above you will see all those pretty colored plastic markers under the tokens representing monsters. The little rogue monster came right up to me to attempt to stab me in my “squishy bits” but managed to miss. This set me up for an amped up Whirling Defense that allowed me to mark every non-minion monster on the board. I am the only defender and with two leaders I figured this would work in our best interest. Not to mention it was cool to run the guy with the markers out of his “marked” collection in one swing.

The halberd guys were a bit of a pain as the getting knocked prone along with a whopping amount of damage was getting to be a lot of not fun. Of course during this time two things kept it even more fun than prior to getting knocked prone. One was our monk stating that he was going to shift to this spot. The DM on the other table commented “I’ll shift you” (or something similar). This allowed me the reply of, “The laptop thing did not seem that hostile. That right there? That was a little hostile.” It was almost like gaming with my group at home.

The other high point was renown points. During the course of the fight (thanks to some well-timed heals) I took a total of 54 hit points of damage. Sadly this huge feat only gains you 1 renown point, but still that was a heck of an accomplishment. Also, I get to start this week with a brand new action point to use, so I have that going for me.

I am starting this week with all of my powers, 1 action point and just over half my healing surges left. We will see how things go tonight.

Leave a Reply

