Zombie Rule of Politics

Back when I was in college I had the Alfano Politics and Religion 20′ Radius Rule™. No political or religious discussions could go on within 20′ of me. Any time you had someone discussing politics or religion they were either indifferent to the whole thing or extremely passionate to one side of the discussion. This lead to a lot of butting of heads and gnashing of teeth. I decided my time was better spent.

Just this week it seems to have evolved into the Zombie Rule of Politics™. That rule states that, simply put, the majority of the Politicians these days are zombies. I know this is confusing some people, but hear me out on this one.

If you are one of my Twitter friends or such and you are a devout Democrat I am going to shock you. I am not a Democrat. Now on the other hand, if you are one of my online friends and are a staunch Republican I am going to shock you further. I am not a Republican. I am seeing some serious weaknesses in the party system coming to light and I hope I can make sense of this for anyone still reading this.

A Republican who votes down on a bill as it was presented by a Democrat, or because the Republican Party as a whole is not in favor of the bill is doing a disservice to his post and is acting like a zombie. The same goes for the Democrat who votes for the same bill based off of the same reasons without actually looking at the bill in question.

There are so very few things in life that are black and white. Nearly everything is somewhere in the middle. That is why I claim not to be a member of any party. The idea of someone going into a polling station and simply pulling a magic lever that says “vote for all Republicans” or “vote for all Democrats” scares the holy hell out of me. Every time I have voted for a candidate it has been because I honestly felt that they were the best person for the job which I was voting for.

Back at a night out with some family members, I had one such member (who is resolutely Republican) ask my wife, “So are you happy with your vote? Are you really?” Knowing that my wife is not as snarky with her side of the family as we are with mine (and the fact that we voted the same this time around), I took the answer in this one. I leaned forward and with a smile on my face said, “Yes, yes we are. You?”

And for the record, had my choice of candidate not won I would have been just as satisfied with my vote.

The reason I bring this up is because I have friends on both sides of the fence. In a few cases the people are strongly in one camp or the other. To the point of near slander against one politician or another. If you are an online friend and you are shaking fist and flag for any cause and I am still following you – feel safe in the knowledge that I must like you. Right or wrong, flag shaking and name calling is no way to win someone over to your way of thinking.

And to put any questions to rest, the candidate I voted for in the last Presidential Election won. And yes, I am satisfied with my vote. And yes, I will be satisfied with my vote throughout his term. And yes, I may just vote for him should he run again. It all depends on his stance on issues and who he is running against – for I am no party zombie.

I am Zombie Joe and I support this message.

2 thoughts on “Zombie Rule of Politics

Leave a Reply

