D&D Campaign Post – Welcome to Nexus

If you are reading this, you are either really bored and reading every one of my blogs (and if so, welcome and thanks…) or you are part of the Misty Mountain Sunday Night Group and were sent this as information on the campaign that I suggested for a new game. If that is the case, read on as there are a few options for the same game listing.

Nexus – The city of Nexus is a sanctuary in an otherwise wild planet. The city itself (an its surrounding fields and natural resources) is surrounded by a mystic shield that prevents things from outside of the shield from entering. Anyone from within the city of Nexus is able to leave the shield and return back in. None of the people of the city really know how the shield works as it was created long before anyone in the city was born. They just know how it works.

None in the city have ever ventured out much past the opening of the city gates before returning. The general populace feels that if the shield was put up there for their protection it would be best to take advantage of it. A small group of young would-be adventurers is about to change that though. For their own reasons they have chosen to travel out past the shield.

Game Options

Option 1: All of the players are human. They were all born in Nexus and have grown up knowing peace through living under the shield. Each player would device their character with the DM to determine why they are choosing to go against the law and travel out in the Wilds. Background options are fairly open. Religion choices (for those chosing a religion) will be the basic options from the sourcebooks and are up to the discretion of the DM.

Option 2: All players are human. The city of Nexus had once existed in a different land. A great cataclysm came and through some long-forgotten magic the city traveled to this new location and the shield was erected. Initial heroes ventured out to attempt to discern where they had traveled to and how they could return. After the loss of those heroes, law was put inplace to prevent people from leaving the security of the shield. Background and religions are the basic ones from the sourcebooks.

Option 3: Players may choose any applicable races and classes (with DM approval). All members of the party were spirited away to the city of Nexus through some unknown magic. They simply woke on a hillside in Nexus. All characters have their own motivation for adventuring outside of the walls of Nexus. The locals are content to let the strangers go out and get themselves killed if they so wish.

Through either of these options the adventure will revolve around venturing out from Nexus either through the motivation of discovering what apocalypse came to the world, or a way to open more resources for Nexus as they are beginning to stretch their resources rather thin. Population is on the rise, but there is no land to expand to.

Questions can be e-mailed to me (or call me) and you can also leave questions in the comments below.

7 thoughts on “D&D Campaign Post – Welcome to Nexus

  1. Looks like I’m the first one here. LOL After reading the options I would pick number 1. As for a character I have couple of ideas in mind and a possible motive to ‘venture’ outside the city.

  2. Well, I didn’t have to venture back to far on this one (on facebook that is) but my preferences are pretty open. If I had my druthers, it would be 3 as it gives more openings for player to tailor a character that fits them more. And no, I wouldn’t take a dwarf or a dragonborn…., there are plenty of other races to explore (maybe a gnome…)

  3. We should likely discuss this more in this coming week – since I have only heard from Van and Mike. 😉 Any one of the options stays the same for me. It only really changes the RPing reactions of your encounters, not the encounters themselves.

  4. Well after reading the options, I would say that I’m intrigued by the role playing aspect of #1. Its a theme that I’ve always wanted to play and I think character flavor wise it would be a richer background for me to develop a PC from. I wouldn’t mind 2 or 3 either but If I was going to rank them it would be 1, 2, 3 for me. As always I’ll play whatever and have no idea what class (race) I would play.

  5. Pingback: Encounters Enters the Nexus « The Journey of a Thousand Miles

Leave a Reply

