GeoBooking

Tonight when I got home from a rather unsuccessful trip to find hunting load for this weekend (seriously, only full metal jacket in the entire city), I had a surprise waiting for me. My wife had the mail on the table which included a package from Diana Rowland. You see a while back she had chosen a number of people to get a copy of her book. I was one of them, but there was a catch. We had to give the copy away once we read it.

Let me explain. There was an article a while back that lambasted someone for sharing ebooks with a friend. In short, the quotes they took from her were out of context and what they were doing was the electronic equivalent of giving the book to a friend after reading it. Specifically their Kindles were set up to link to the same account. Keep in mind that meant that Friend A could buy a book with Friend B’s credit card information should she so wish. Not exactly something we would do for just anyone.

In response to the way that story was handled and the near harassment that the woman with the Kindle received over it, this author did this contest. I know there are a lot of people out there that are wondering what the point is. If you are reading this you have either a lot of time on your hands, or you have in your possession a copy of Mark of the Demon with the url of this blog in there. There are instructions from the author to sign your name and pass it on. I am including instructions to come to this blog and log your reading with the following information:

  • Name
  • Location (you can vague this up if you so choose, I am just interested in where this travels to)
  • Who you are giving this book to
  • What you thought of the book

Now, as I am in the middle of Nanowrimo and just getting ready for hunting season I am not going to have time to read it right away. So my first act is going to be to start sharing the book. That means you might have some specific instructions to get it back to me so that I can either pass it on to someone who has expressed interest in it, or get a chance to read it myself. In fact I am already formulating thoughts of getting this book eventually out to California, towards the east coast or possibly even overseas. What can I say? I know some people… 😉

If you are reading this and are interested in reading the book and submitting the information, let me know. Feel free to even comment below. If you have the book and are looking for someone to give it to, check the comments below to see if someone has expressed and interest in it, or contact me. I am sure I know of someone who would be interested in participating.

And for those wondering the title is relating to the hobby of Geocaching – where you take a GPS unit and enter a set of coordinates and then go there to find a hidden stash where you then log your activity there. Same idea, but it is the book taking the journey, not you. Part of my rather twisted brain is picturing it like a chest in a Looney Tunes cartoon. Bugs Bunny sends it around the world and it comes back with all sorts of stickers on it from where it has been. Let’s see how many “stickers” we can get on this bad boy!

Leave a Reply

